Breakfast · Eat · Recipes · Uncategorized

Carrot cake pancakes

I love carrot cake anything. I could eat it for breakfast. You know, like a responsible adult. The only thing keeping me from it, is that I rather like my current wardrobe, and would prefer not to have to spend money on clothing a size up every other month. But else..

So you see, I needed a solution. A way to still get my carrot cake fix. Now, I had a serious pancake addiction for a while. I’m talking pancakes seven days a week here. Sometimes twice a day.

If I am being entirely honest, I’m still pretty hooked. But more of a twice a week hooked. Almost normal.

181016carrotcake1

I’d been making carrot cake oatmeal for a while, when I decided to give it a go in the form of pancakes. And man. Does it work. This is by far my favourite winter warmer breakfast. And it means I get a serving of vegetables in before noon. Pretty perfect, right?

The ingredients are simple. Just your basic pancake mix, with the addition of all the usual carrot cake goodness. Oh and do go crazy on the toppings on weekends. I mean. That’s what Sundays are for..

Ok. Let me run you through this.

Ingredients (for one person, makes 3-4 American sized pancakes)

  • 181016carrotcake350-55gr flour (whole-wheat or plain)
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 1/4tsp baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • stevia/sugar to taste
  • 1tsp carrot cake spices (cinnamon, cloves, star anise, ginger – mix it yourself or use a store-bought mix)
  • zest of 1/2-1 orange
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/3 cup buttermilk
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • juice of 1/2 orange
  • 1/2 large carrot, grated, juice squeezed out
  • walnuts (or pecans), small handful
  • raisins, small handful

Preparation

  1. Grab two bowls. Mix all the dry ingredients except for the grated carrot, walnuts, and raisins in one, and all the wet ingredients in the other.
  2. Heat a griddle or a pan over low-medium heat.
  3. Combine the wet and dry ingredients until almost mixed, then fold through the carrot, walnuts, and raisins.
  4. Pour the batter onto your griddle/pan, about 1/4 cup at a time, and fry on low heat. When bubbles start to form on the surface, flip the pancakes and fry for another 1-2 minutes.
  5. Serve your pancakes with cranberry sauce and yoghurt for a lighter option, or maple syrup, extra nuts, possibly even a cream cheese glaze for a weekend indulgence.
  6. Eat, and be merry :-).
Leave a Reply

